About WHS

WHS is a non-profit, non-partisan organization founded in March 2009. The group has grown to nearly 4500 public and private sector members.  2014-2015 marked the organization’s 5th Anniversary.

The Mission of Women in Homeland Security is to build the homeland security community. WHS provides a professional organization for women working in the field of homeland security who are committed both to their jobs and to combating the threat of terrorism.  “Homeland security” is a relatively new field and the organization strives to provide women and men with a forum to learn about the many facets of the discipline and to build the connections necessary for a better understanding of the different roles of Federal, State and Local professionals in the prevention, protection and response to any type of incident. Through monthly meetings, book club, WHS University and the group’s charity work, Women in Homeland Security fosters a collaborative environment for homeland security professionals to improve our nation’s security and intelligence on critical homeland security topics confronting the nation.

Women in Homeland Security is committed to assuring that we never forget the threat of terrorism and the need for our nation to maintain its vigilance — despite the absence of a terrorist attack since September 11, 2001.

WHS brochure
Download a brochure about WHS here.
Ready to discover more about WHS?



VADM Vivien S. Crea
Vice Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard
Ancient Albatross Officer (Aviator), twenty-first Ancient Albatross and first female aviator to achieve the distinction

Rosaline Cohen
Chief Counsel to Chair of the Homeland Security Committee Bennie Thompson

Frances Fragos Townsend
former Special Assistant to the President for Homeland Security & Counterterrorism and chair of the Homeland Security Council; now partner with Baker Botts LLP

Soraya Correa
Director Office of Procurement Operations, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Jamie Gorelick
Partner, WilmerHale; former Deputy Attorney General of the United States | 9/11 Commission

Roxana “Roxie” Bacon
Senior Counsel
United States Customs & Immigration Service (USCIS)

Dr. Tara O’Toole
Science & Technology Directorate
U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Rebecca Marquis
Deputy Director, Ready Campaign, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Millicent West
Director, District of Columbia Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management

Kelly Wilson
Deputy Director, Washington Regional Threat & Analysis Center

Margie Graves
Deputy CIO, Department of Homeland Security

Leslie Hope
Deputy Chief Information Officer Citizen and Immigration Services

Sandy Peavy
Chief Information Officer, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center

Michael Chertoff

former Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security; Co-founder & Principal, The Chertoff Group

Tina Gabbrielli

Director, Office of Risk Management & Analysis, DHS

Molly Wilkinson

Republican Deputy General Council, Senate Homeland Security & Government Affairs Committee

Tiffany T. Hixson

Executive Director, SBI Acquisition Office, DHS

Dr. Sharla Rausch
First Director of the Human Factors Behavioral Analysis Unit, Science & Technology Directorate, DHS

Jenny Menna
Director, Critical Infrastructure Cyber Protection & Awareness
National Cyber Security Division, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Mark Borkowski
Component Acquisition Executive & Assistant Commissioner, Office of Technology Innovation& Acquisition, Customs & Border Protection, DHS

Sara Schroerlucke
Director, Northern Border Division, Office of Technology Innovation and Acquisition, Customsand Border Protection, DHS

Stephanie Von Hlatky, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor, Dartmouth College
Postdoctoral Fellow, Georgetown University’s
Center for Peace and Security Studies

S/SGT/Jamie Solesme
Integrated Border Enforcement Team, RCMP

Catherine Herridge
Fox News Homeland Security Correspondent, Author of The Next Wave

Stacey Street
Director, Program Support, FEMA Grant Programs, FEMA/DHS

Sandra Peavy
CIO, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC), DHS

Dr. Emma Garrison-Alexander
Assistant Administrator for Technology & CIO, Transportation Security Administration, DHS

Margie Graves

Deputy Chief Information Officer, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Deborah Kent
Director, HSIN Program

Gregg “Skip” Bailey
Director of Technology Integration, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Former CIO, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, U.S. Department of Justice

Carey Miller
Director, Deloitte & Touche LLP

Roberta Stempfley
Director, National Cyber Security Division, DHS

Donna Roy
Executive Director, National Information Exchange Model,